Cliff Cottage, the four houses.
Through the trees growing on the cliffs of Cacouna, overlooking the St. Lawrence River, four small houses can still be seen. It was in 1865 that Andrew Thomson, a lumber merchant and banker from Quebec City, had these cottages built for the use of family and friends.
He chose an experienced architect, Edward Staveley, who had also drawn the plans for his residence in Quebec City, Bijou. Joseph Martin, a local carpenter, constructed the four houses of squared logs on solid stone foundations. These Picturesque cottages are identical in every way, with their wide french doors opening onto galleries to better appreciate the natural setting.
Photo source :
Postcard. S. Belle, édit., Fraserville, P.Q., Yves Lebel Collection